Our Stories and Projects

IT-Infrastructure

IT infrastructure in the Smart City

Good urban planning with an infrastructure that is oriented and develops according to the needs of its citizens – this is not an invention of modern times. In the distant past, individual houses grew together to form settlements. These became cities, which gradually acquired paved roads and the first infrastructure networks for supplying water and electricity and for disposing of wastewater and refuse.

See the full story
Education

Educational tools

Learning, communicating, expanding one’s horizons. Lifelong learning – today, and especially in the fast-paced times of digitization, little argument is needed for this. Learning can offer new perspectives, be fun, and even protect. No fewer than four Smart City Darmstadt projects contribute to education – each in its own unique way.

See the full story
Society

Story: Digital for Everyone

Digital for All – How we make it easier for citizens with low media literacy to access the digital world and realize more participation through new media. “Participation is a word that has many meanings,” Thomas (all names changed) reads from an online “dictionary for easy language” and continues: “One also says: to take part in something. Andreas looks up briefly from his tablet, “Oh, I see. That’s what we’re doing here,” and is once again engrossed in his screen.

See the full story
Environment

Story: Environment

Climate change is a reality and human involvement in it is beyond question. For a more climate-friendly life in our city, Darmstadt has developed a climate protection concept that bundles a variety of projects and measures and is continuously being developed. The city’s climate report, which was developed in the course of this, shows summer heat islands as well as cold air areas that provide relief. It enables urban planning under aspects of climate protection and climate adaptation.

See the full story
Education

Story: House of Digital Media Education

The internet and media have become an inseparable part of our everyday lives. If we can gain a better understanding of how the media world works and how it affects us, we can be more confident engaging with it. With this in mind, the team from Hesse’s Institute for Media Education and Communication (MuK) is offering free workshops, training courses and lectures as part of Smart City’s House of Media Education project.

See the full story
Mobility

Story: Mobility

As the red arrow on the display shows, it will be at least 40 seconds until the traffic lights at the corner of Bismarckstraße and the B3 turn green. Drivers can confidently let their gaze wander into the surroundings, knowing that an acoustic signal will draw their attention back to the road. When the tone sounds, the display starts a countdown: seven, six, five, four, three, two, one second to green. The traffic lights change

See the full story
Energy

Story: Energy

Light on, light off – just as needed. When coming from the north, you may notice 17 street lights lined up like pearls on a string. These lights are the subject of a joint project involving ENTEGA AG, e-netz Südhessen GmbH & Co KG, LUXSTREAM GmbH and Tridonic GmbH & Co KG. The almost 300-metre-long route is only open to pedestrians and farm traffic.

See the full story

Projects

SMART MEDICINE COMPETENCE CENTRE

Read more

“Darmstadt im Herzen”

Read more

“Kultur einer Digitalstadt”

Read more

5G – the future of mobile communications Cooperation project

Read more

A resource-efficient and comprehensive radio network for the city LoRaWAN

Read more

Virtual 360-degree tours of the city

Read more

Free IT security training for the city’s inhabitants

Read more

House of Digital Media Education

Read more
Field of action

Stories und Projekte

IT-Infrastruktur

Story: IT-Infrastruktur

Gute Stadtplanung mit einer Infrastruktur, die sich an den Bedürfnissen ihrer Bürger:innen orientiert und entwickelt – das ist keine Erfindung der Neuzeit. In ferner Vergangenheit wuchsen einzelne Häuser zu Siedlungen zusammen. Daraus wurden Städte, die nach und nach befestigte Straßen bekamen und erste Infrastrukturnetze zur Versorgung mit Wasser und Elektrizität sowie zur Entsorgung von Abwasser und Abfall.

Zur ganzen Story
Bildung

Story: Bildungstools

Lernen, kommunizieren, den eigenen Horizont erweitern. Lebenslanges Lernen – dafür braucht es heute und vor allem in den rasanten Zeiten der Digitalisierung wenig Argumente. Lernen kann neue Perspektiven bieten, Spaß machen und sogar schützen. Gleich vier Projekte der Digitalstadt Darmstadt tragen zur Bildung bei – jedes auf seine ganz eigene Weise.

Zur ganzen Story
Gesellschaft

Story: Digital für Alle

Digital für Alle – Wie wir auch Bürgerinnen und Bürgern mit geringer Medienkompetenz den Zugang zur digitalen Welt erleichtern, um durch die neuen Medien mehr Teilhabe realisieren zu können. „Teilhabe ist ein Wort, das viele Bedeutungen hat“, liest Thomas (alle Namen geändert) aus einem Online-„Wörterbuch für leichte Sprache“ vor und berichtet weiter: „Man sagt auch: bei etwas mitmachen.“ Andreas schaut kurz von seinem Tablet auf: „Ach so. Das machen wir ja hier“, und ist wieder in seinen Bildschirm vertieft.

Zur ganzen Story
Umwelt

Story: Umwelt

Der Klimawandel ist Realität und die Beteiligung des Menschen daran steht außer Frage. Für ein klimafreundlicheres Leben in unserer Stadt hat Darmstadt ein Klimaschutzkonzept entwickelt, das vielfältige Projekte und Maßnahmen bündelt und kontinuierlich fortentwickelt wird. Das in diesem Zuge entstandene städtische Klimagutachten zeigt sommerliche Hitze-Inseln sowie entlastende Kaltluftgebiete. Es ermöglicht eine Stadtplanung unter Aspekten des Klimaschutzes und der Klimaanpassung.

Zur ganzen Story
Bildung

Story: Haus der Medienbildung

Internet und Medien lassen sich nicht mehr von unserem Alltag trennen. Wenn wir jedoch verstehen, wie die Medienwelt funktioniert und was sie mit uns macht, können wir uns selbstbewusster und sicherer darin bewegen. Aus dieser Überzeugung heraus bietet im Digitalstadt-Projekt „Haus der digitalen Medienbildung“ das Team des hessischen Instituts für Medienpädagogik und (MuK) kostenlose Workshops, Schulungen und Vorträge an.

Zur ganzen Story
Mobilität

Story: Mobilität

Der rote Pfeil auf dem Display signalisiert: Noch mindestens 40 Sekunden, bis die Ampel an der Bismarckstraße/Ecke B3 auf Grün umspringt. Getrost kann der Fahrer den Blick in die Umgebung schweifen lassen, denn er weiß: Ein akustisches Signal holt seine Aufmerksamkeit in den Verkehr zurück. enn das ertönt, zeigt das Display: noch sieben, sechs, fünf, vier, drei, zwei, eine Sekunde bis Grün. Die Ampel springt um.

Zur ganzen Story
Energie

Story: Energie

Licht an, Licht aus – ganz nach Bedarf. Von Norden kommend, sind 17 Straßenlaternen gut sichtbar wie Perlen einer Schnur aufgereiht. Sie sind Gegenstand des Gemeinschaftsprojekts der ENTEGA AG, e-netz Südhessen GmbH &Co KG, der LUXSTREAM GmbH und der Tridonic GmbH & Co KG. Zudem ist die knapp 300 Meter lange Strecke nur für den landschaftlichen Verkehr freigegeben.

Zur ganzen Story

Projekte der Digitalstadt Darmstadt

Darmstadt App

Mehr dazu

Kompetenzzentrum Digitale Medizin

Mehr dazu

Darmstadt im Herzen

Mehr dazu

Kultur einer Digitalstadt

Mehr dazu

LoRaWAN-Netzwerk

Mehr dazu

Virtuelle 360-Grad-Touren

Mehr dazu

Kostenfreies IT-Sicherheitstraining für Bürger:innen

Mehr dazu

Haus der digitalen Medienbildung

Mehr dazu
Aktionsbereiche